Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe DVD

Watch Trailer
Additional Information
  • Director: Andrew Adamson
  • Languages: English, French, Spanish
  • Run Time: 143 minutes
  • Screen Format: WS
  • Subtitles: English, French, Spanish
  • Closed Captioning: Yes
  • Region Code: 1
  • See More

Sale price $13.73 Regular price $14.99 You save 8%

Estimated arrival between and for USA.

Free Shipping on Orders Over $40

The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe

Complete with stunning special effects and whimsical characters, The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe is a magnificent portrayal of C.S. Lewis' beloved book. Explore new worlds with the loveable characters of Lucy, Edmund, Susan, and Peter. These four siblings find the enchanting world of Narnia through a magical wardrobe while playing hide and seek at the estate of a mysterious professor. Entering into Narnia, the children discover a charming land filled with dwarfs, fauns, centaurs, and giants. Once a peaceful land, Narnia has been taken over by the evil white witch, Jada. She has turned the land into a world of eternal winter. The children meet a wise and regal lion named Aslan, who helps them lead Narnia into a spectacular battle to free the land of Witch's powers forever.

The Chronicles of Narnia

Before being made into movies, The Chronicles of Narnia originated as a book series. Written by C.S Lewis, this seven book series sold over 100 million copies in 47 different languages. Wildly popular, Lewis' fantasy stories present Christian themes in an allegorical style that is appealing to children. The stories center around Narnia and the four Pevensie children. Their goal throughout each of the books is to restore Narnia to its rightful state and free the land and the people from evil.

Lewis received inspiration for the stories from many different sources, including the Bible. He wanted to produce quality fantasy books that would appeal to children and adults alike, as well as books that contained a deeper meaning. The series freely borrows characters from Greek and Roman mythology as well as elements from British and Irish fairy tales. Though mostly well received, his books have received some controversy for exploring deep religious themes in children's literature.

The idea for The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe originated with a picture in Lewis' mind. Since he was sixteen years old, he had a mental image of a Faun carrying an umbrella and parcels in a snowy wood. Finally, when he was forty years old, he decided to try and make a story out of the image that was burned in his mind.

Shortly before World War II began, many children were evacuated from London to the English countryside because attacks on London were anticipated. Three school girls, Mary, Margaret, and Katherine were evacuated to Lewis' home in Risinghurst. This experience gave him a new appreciation for children and gave him the idea to write a story for children. The story originally did not include Aslan, and Lewis was having a hard time writing something that was worthwhile. However, as soon as he dreamed up the idea of Aslan, the stories began to move much more smoothly.

Lewis chose the name Narnia for his fictional world based upon the city of Narni, Italy. In Latin, the city is written as Narnia. When asked where he found the word Narnia, Lewis responded by showing a map of ancient Italy. The real city of Narnia, in Italy, is halfway between Rome and Assisi. Lewis chose the name simply because he liked the sound of it.

The Chronicles of Narnia series follows the children as they grow up and make more allies and enemies in the world of Narnia. The main undercurrent of the series is a battle of good versus evil, and Aslan is often painted to be a symbol of Jesus. These stories are highly entertaining, as well as useful moral teaching tools. Lewis' stories are timeless and exciting, appealing to all ages.

The Series

The Chronicles of Narnia series is made up of seven books, each revolving around life in Narnia.

The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe was published first. It tells the story of four ordinary children, Lucy, Edmund, Susan, and Peter, who have been evacuated from London due to impending attacks on London. Here they discover a mysterious world through a magical wardrobe. The land is controlled by the evil White Witch who has set off an eternal winter. The children, with the help of regal lion Aslan, must work together to lead Narnia in battle and defeat the evil witch. The children become kings and queens, establishing the Golden Age of Narnia.

Prince Caspian is the second book published. This story follows the Pevensie children as they return to Narnia for a second time. They are drawn to return due to a magical horn blown by Prince Caspian. They return to find that more than 1,000 years have passed and their kingdom is in ruins. All the Narnians have retreated and only Aslan's magic can bring them back. Caspian's uncle has usurped the throne, and the children set out once more to help restore Narnia to its rightful condition.

The Voyage of the Dawn Treader, the third book in the series, finds Edmund, Lucy, and their cousin Eustace returning to Narnia once more. Their journey finds them on a mission to recover the seven lords who have been banished from the land. They set sail on a perilous adventure to save those affected by the evil king's reign.

The Silver Chair, the fourth installment, is the first book without any of the Pevensie children. The story finds Eustace returning with his friend, Jill, to search for Caspian's son. Aslan informs them of what they must do, and together they set out on a journey filled with danger and betrayal, in order to find Prince Rilian.

The Horse and His Boy, the fifth book in the series, takes place during the reign of the Pevensies in Narnia. The story features a talking horse named Bree and a boy named Shasta as they set out to free themselves from bondage and return to Narnia.

The Magician's Nephew, considered the sixth installment, is actually a prequel to all the other stories. The story follows two children, Digory and Polly, who begin experimenting with magic. This magic leads them to other worlds and an encounter with the White Witch. They see the creation of Narnia and the origins of the land.

The Last Battle is the final book in the Chronicles of Narnia series. Jill and Eustace return once more to save Narnia from evil. An ape tricks a donkey into impersonating Aslan, and he misleads the children into believing he is really the wise and beloved lion. This story chronicles the end of Narnia and the true Narnia being revealed by Aslan.

The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe is rated PG by the Motion Picture Association of America for battle sequences and frightening moments. It is always recommended that parents preview all content to determine what is suitable for their children.

Customer Reviews

Based on 1 review Write a review

When Calls the Heart


"It is written, "Man shall not live by bread alone, but on every word that proceeds out of the mouth of God.".. ” - Matthew 4:4